Government - Hospital district · 36 certified beds · CMS number 45F094
Reagan County Care Center, Big Lake, TX
CMS records 13 health deficiencies at Reagan County Care Center in Big Lake, Texas in its last 3 inspection cycles; the Texas median is 25. Its most recent standard inspection was on Jul 2, 2026. The highest severity cited is F (no actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm). CMS lists 16 fines totaling $92,988 in the last three years.
- 13deficiencies, 3 cycles (TX median 25)
- 4in the latest cycle (TX median 8)
- Fhighest severity · Potential for harm
- $92,988fines, last 3 years
- 3CMS overall rating (of 5)
Inspections and deficiencies
CMS findings for Reagan County Care Center as of Sep 1, 2026, grouped by inspection cycle (3 cycles); each is a requirement inspectors found not met, and Reagan County Care Center may since have corrected or disputed it. Severity letters · Inspection cycles · Care Compare
Most recent cycle (4 deficiencies)
Standard inspection Jul 2, 2026. CMS counts 4 health deficiencies and 3 fire safety deficiencies in this cycle.
Jul 2, 2026 · Standard inspection
3 deficiencies, highest F
F838 · Facility-wide assessment of needs
Requirement cited (CMS): Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
- Severity
- F No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread
- Status
- Correction date Aug 10, 2026
F761 · Drug labeling and secure storage
Requirement cited (CMS): Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
- Severity
- E No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
- Status
- Correction date Aug 10, 2026
F732 · Daily posting of nurse staffing
Requirement cited (CMS): Post nurse staffing information every day.
- Severity
- C No actual harm, potential for minimal harm, widespread
- Status
- Correction date Jul 6, 2026
Jan 14, 2026 · Complaint inspection
1 deficiency, highest D
F644 · Coordinating with PASARR screening
Requirement cited (CMS): Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
- Severity
- D No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
- Status
- Correction date Feb 27, 2026
Previous cycle: 4 deficiencies (standard inspection May 15, 2025)
Standard inspection May 15, 2025. CMS counts 4 health deficiencies and 1 fire safety deficiency in this cycle.
May 15, 2025 · Standard + complaint inspection
4 deficiencies, highest F
F880 · Infection prevention and control program
Requirement cited (CMS): Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
- Severity
- E No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
- Status
- Correction date Aug 1, 2025
F851 · Reporting staffing data to CMS
Requirement cited (CMS): Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
- Severity
- F No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread
- Status
- Correction date Aug 1, 2025
F812 · Food safety and sanitation
Requirement cited (CMS): Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
- Severity
- D No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
- Status
- Correction date Aug 1, 2025
F657 · Care plan timing and team review
Requirement cited (CMS): Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
- Severity
- D No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
- Status
- Correction date Aug 1, 2025
Earlier cycle: 5 deficiencies (standard inspection Apr 4, 2024)
Standard inspection Apr 4, 2024. CMS counts 5 health deficiencies and 0 fire safety deficiencies in this cycle.
Apr 4, 2024 · Standard + complaint inspection
5 deficiencies, highest F
F921 · Safe, functional, sanitary building
Requirement cited (CMS): Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
- Severity
- F No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, widespread
- Status
- Correction date May 31, 2024
F880 · Infection prevention and control program
Requirement cited (CMS): Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
- Severity
- E No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
- Status
- Correction date May 31, 2024
F761 · Drug labeling and secure storage
Requirement cited (CMS): Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
- Severity
- D No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
- Status
- Correction date May 31, 2024
F656 · Comprehensive person-centered care plan
Requirement cited (CMS): Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
- Severity
- D No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, isolated
- Status
- Correction date May 31, 2024
F637 · Reassessment after a significant change
Requirement cited (CMS): Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
- Severity
- E No actual harm, potential for more than minimal harm, pattern
- Status
- Correction date May 31, 2024
Tags cited in more than one inspection
2 tags cited on more than one inspection date at Reagan County Care Center; each date counts once and does not mean the same incident. PNC = past non-compliance.
| Tag | Inspections | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| F761 Drug labeling and secure storage | 2 | Jul 2, 2026; Apr 4, 2024 |
| F880 Infection prevention and control program | 2 | May 15, 2025; Apr 4, 2024 |
Fines and payment denials
| Date | Type | Amount / length |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 20, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| Feb 12, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| Jan 22, 2024 | Fine | $14,679 |
| Jan 8, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| Jan 2, 2024 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Dec 11, 2023 | Fine | $13,635 |
| Nov 20, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Nov 13, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Nov 6, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Oct 30, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Oct 23, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Oct 17, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Oct 10, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Oct 2, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Sep 25, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Sep 18, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
Staffing and CMS ratings
- Total nurse staff hours per resident per day
- 4.78 h (above the Texas median of 3.27 h)
- RN hours per resident per day
- 0.59 h (above the Texas median of 0.38 h)
- Weekend nurse staff hours per resident per day
- 4.33 h
- Nursing staff turnover
- not reported
- Administrators who left
- not reported
- CMS overall rating
- 3 of 5
- Health inspection rating
- 4 of 5
- Staffing rating
- 3 of 5
- Quality measure rating
- 1 of 5
CMS figures for Reagan County Care Center, copied as published; Texas medians are ours.
Facility details
- Address
- 1300 North Main, Big Lake, TX 76932
- Phone
- (325) 884-5614
- County
- Reagan
- Accepts
- Medicaid
- Ownership
- Government - Hospital district
- Chain (CMS)
- Not part of a chain in CMS data
- Certified beds
- 36
- Average residents per day
- 29.7
- In Medicare/Medicaid since
- Jan 16, 1985
- Inside a hospital
- No
- Continuing care retirement community
- No
- Resident and family council
- Resident
- Sprinklers in all required areas
- Yes
Questions to ask on a visit
Based on the tags cited most often here.
- How are medications stored and secured on each unit? (F761, cited 2 times)
- How do staff track and report infections among residents? (F880, cited 2 times)
- How does the care team decide when a change in condition calls for a full reassessment? (F637, cited 1 time)
- If a resident has a mental health condition or intellectual disability, how are PASARR recommendations included in their care? (F644, cited 1 time)
Source
CMS Provider Data Catalog: Provider Information, Health Deficiencies, Penalties, Survey Summary. Processed by CMS Sep 1, 2026; next update Oct 28, 2026.